7Day/2aDay challenge: DAY 4 (Too much 'conversation' – 7 Day Challenge Failed!)

Posted: September 19, 2006 by Daniel in difficulties, e-challenge, witness encounters

You will only get my pun (too much conversation) for today if you know something about emergent religion (Read LA Times article).I AM NOT LAUGHING.I blew it today. I went out to evangelise this afternoon and blew it. I met an old friend from High School and thought that this would be a wonderful opportunity to share the good news, I really wanted to show him respect and caring and inquired for quite a long time about his life and shared a lot about myself and then all of a sudden he had to go. I realised that I had not said anything about Christianity (my whole point of being out and about talking to people) and tried to stop him.
“Can you give me 3 minutes, because I have got something really important that I want to share with you.” I pleaded
“No seriously man, I’ve really got to go” He said as he left…

He wasn’t trying to avoid Christianity because he had no idea that would be something I wanted to talk about. So there you go – friendship evangelism sucks. In retrospect I had plenty of time to bring it in, but I just thought that I should really try and build a strong platform for the gospel.

I RAN OUT OF TIME! I don’t want to ever do that again. I am so disappointed in myself and I feel really bad that I was not able to achieve my goal for today. I know it was just a challenge that I set for myself, and I am amazed because I thought it was so simple to achieve and I thought that I had made the challenge too easy. Sorry for letting you down if you were reading this and thinking that Dan was some sort of ledged. Hope this proves that I am not. I have set a task to do and failed. The task was:

“7 Days of 2 a day. What will this look like? I intend to attempt to take at least 2 people a day (2Day) clearly and effectively through the Law of God to reveal their position before Him, and then to reveal what God has done for them so they need not perish on the day of judgement.”

It’s now even too late in the evening to call people. I suppose I could race into the City and try and find someone when, if I am honest, there were other opportunities (besides the old school friend) that came my way in the day. I’m just going to admit that I failed my challenge. Perhaps I was getting to proud and it’s God’s way of humbling me. Perhaps it just shows me how little I fear God and how little I truly care about people going to a lost eternity.

One thing I will say about today that I have not prayed or read the bible. I know that doing so is not magical, but what it means is that I am starving spiritually and weak. I should therefore not be surprised that I failed. I’m calling this thing failed….. I will however continue on witnessing every day – God willing and hopefully reach more than 2 people per day. By the way – in reporting on all this I am not try to boast or gain some sort of therapy. I want to encourage the body of Christ in everyday evangelism.

James 1:22-25 (ESV) But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.

 

Leave a Reply

