Communicating the Gospel to Post-Modern people

Posted: January 11, 2007 by Daniel in Christianity, evangelism, religions and beliefs, resources, theology, Way of the Master

stop and thinkCame across the ‘Just stop and think’ video. I am most impressed. I like the way the guy is trying to relate to the viewer and explain the gospel in a way that is understandable but not compromising on theology. The trap of being ‘relevant’ is that we end up with a watered down gospel. They avoid this by spending time explaining each point in detail.

Well done!

I also noted the guy’s tone – he started out very congenial and later became powerfully compassionate when explaining how Jesus paid the price for our sin on the cross. He seems to go a bit too far at the end in saying:

The God of the universe is crazy about you.
He is screaming out for your attention

I don’t think that God is sad or lonely and somehow needs us. We have to be careful how we explain the love of God. God demonstrates his love toward us so that He might be glorified. I won’t dwell on this final point; I understand where the guy is coming from.

You really have to check this one video out, even if you are already a Christian. Let me know what you think.

Comments
  1. Dizzy says:

    I checked out the video. I was really up and down on my rating of this video. In the beginning I was giving it 9 out of 10 and then towards the end I was switching between 8 and 9, then 8 and 7.

    What I really think was good, was the approachability, the humanity, and the sincerity of the speaker. I think the clip had beautiful clips of the beach that demonstrated God’s creation.

    What kept bringing down my rating, was sometimes the overemphasis on the relationship. What kept bringing it back up was the mention of the commandments and the day of judgement several times and thoughful insights he gave, such as the analogy of the worst grades in class and our guilt.

    Overall I give it an 8 out of 10. God uses whatever we bring, and I’m positive God can use Stop and Think to make people- well, stop and think. 🙂

  2. I think your rating is spot on.

Leave a Reply

