Witnessing to Mormons out of purity.

Posted: February 17, 2007 by Daniel in Christianity, cults, evangelism, purity, witness encounters

Had a good opportunity to correct a couple of Elders out for a Saturday witness. I was on my front lawn reading when they walked up. I explained that I knew a lot about Mormonism already.

 We had a pleasant conversation and I did my best to correct them on many points. They got pretty quite towards the end when I was taking them through he Law and the Gospel but they would constantly defend themselves saying that they believed the same things about God and Jesus as I do. I clearly rebuked them saying no, they hold to a very non-biblical view of Jesus, God, ssalvation by grace through faith, etc. God gave me great compassion for these guys and I left them with the the statement that they are believing in a different Jesus – one who could not save them – that it was blasphemous to refer to Jesus as a created being when scripture so clearly states that Jesus is God is so many places -the Gospels, Hebrews, Revelation 1, etc.

God has done a lot of work on my life in the area of purity recently and I am starting to see the results in my witnessing. If you are an evangelist and you struggle to be pure, please check out this link. www.settingcaptivesfree.com

If you are a Mormon and are reading this post the same message to my 2 mormons today applies to you – You are believing in a false Jesus who cannot save you. Take the good test and you will find that you can’t make up for all your sins – you have to be judged for you transgression of the Law and you will be guilty. You need someone to pay the penalty for your sin or you will have to do it yourself. No one is able to do this for you, because everyone else has sinned and has to pay their own fines for eternity. Jesus calls you to repent of your sins – turn from them and put your trust in Jesus and his offer of his righteousness. Living a life that pleases God will be the evidence of God’s work in your life, not trying to live a life of obedience in the hope that you will be forgiven.

Comments
  1. inhisgrace says:

    thank you for the very bold post on Mormonism. i’ve got some questions about it though. how do you explain the gold plates that Joseph Smith was led to, and it was also witnessed by many? i saw the name list in the book of mormons that i chanced upon at a thrift store. i read abit here and there on mormonism but not too much. will be happy to be enlightened!

  2. Hi Inhisgrace,

    I am not claiming to be an expert on Mormonism but I have read up on it from various sources and I have witnessed to Mormons prior to yesterday’s encounter.

    Ok, I don’t know the full story about the ‘gold plates’ but I do know a few scriptures that could be a helpful guide for you:

    Galatians 1 v 6-8
    I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel– not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ.
    But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel contrary to the one we preached to you, let him be accursed.
    As we have said before, so now I say again: If anyone is preaching to you a gospel contrary to the one you received, let him be accursed. (ESV)

    So it doesn’t matter is someone comes along in a spectacular way – if the message of salvation that they teach is incorrect then we should not listen to them. Instead, we should actively separate ourselves from them. Thankfully most cults separate themselves anyway, but if they want to continue in fellowship with believers they must be rejected for the sake of the Church and in honour of Christ.

    In Corinthians, Paul talks of the necessity to separate ourselves from false doctrine.

    2Co 6 v 16-18 What agreement has the temple of God with idols? For we are the temple of the living God; as God said, “I will make my dwelling among them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Therefore go out from their midst, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch no unclean thing; then I will welcome you, and I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.”

    2 Peter 2v 1-2 But false prophets also arose among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you, who will secretly bring in destructive heresies, even denying the Master who bought them, bringing upon themselves swift destruction. And many will follow their sensuality, and because of them the way of truth will be blasphemed.

    Mormons amazingly reject the fact that Jesus is God. The doctrine of the divinity of Christ is clear in many parts of scripture. Like Peter says in the previous portion of scripture – there will be many that come with destructive heresies, Mormonism is one such heresy as it is in opposition to what the bible teaches. Don’t be wooed by the ‘cool’ stuff that happened to start off Mormonism. Ask the question, does what they say agree with the biblical gospel? It does not.

    Again, I am not an expert on all this and there are much better sources available for discussion on this topic. Perhaps you could try:
    The CARM Website
    Or check out this article on Smith’s first vision

  3. inhisgrace says:

    Daniel, thank you for the scriptural quotes – they are most useful. i guess it is right to say that there are all sorts of miracles today but as long as it is scripturally unsound it can be from unholy sources.

    somehow this made me think of the book called ‘Heaven is so Real!’ by a korean-american lady who claimed visitations from Jesus himself. wonder if you’ve read it and have any thoughts on that.

  4. Bill says:

    Daniel,

    I thank God for your willingness and obedience in sharing the gospel. I’ll pray for those Mormons.

    Bill

  5. Thanks Bill

    Hey I checked out your blog and it looks really good. You seem to be of the same mind as me on the necessity of evangelism and the way we should go about it (though I only scanned a little).

    I think there is a bit of a phenomenon on the web where people who are active evangelists want to share their adventures so that they can encourage other Christians in the activity. I have seen many similar blogs develop and grow.

    Well done, the more the merrier and the more we can also learn from each other.

  6. blessed1 says:

    I often have the mormon followers knock on our doors. They just built a new tabernacle in my parent’s nieghborhood, with the promise “NOT” to knock on any nieghbor’s doors. However, that was a promise they haven’t kept. It seems that they’re out in droves lately. Thank you for this powerful rebuttle to their theology.

Leave a Reply

