The importance of hearing Jesus for ourselves in salvation

Posted: March 19, 2007 by Daniel in Christianity, evangelism, religions and beliefs, theology

John 4:39-42 (ESV) Many Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me all that I ever did.” So when the Samaritans came to him, they asked him to stay with them, and he stayed there two days. And many more believed because of his word. They said to the woman, “It is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is indeed the Savior of the world.”

At the moment in Church we are hearing some fine preaching though the book of John. I only wish we had a website with the sermons on it so that I could share it with you in full. One point from yesterday’s message struck me quite strongly. It was in regard to the woman’s transformed life and subsequent witness. Here was a woman loaded down with sin, shame and social rejection now mindless of any of that. She had drunk of the living water of Christ through hearing and believing his words. She then goes straight into town and raises many people to come and hear Jesus for themselves. Some believed in Jesus just through her account of what happened to her at the well – her evidence and personal transformation (perhaps she always hid herself in shame and rejection) was just so striking to them.

It was, however, only when the people of the village heard Jesus for themselves that they really knew that Jesus was the Saviour of the world. It is essential that a person hears Jesus speaking themselves. Salvation is the work of the Holy Spirit, sent by Christ to testify about him.

1 John 5:5-12 (ESV) Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? This is he who came by water and blood–Jesus Christ; not by the water only but by the water and the blood. And the Spirit is the one who testifies, because the Spirit is the truth. For there are three that testify:the Spirit and the water and the blood; and these three agree. If we receive the testimony of men, the testimony of God is greater, for this is the testimony of God that he has borne concerning his Son. Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself. Whoever does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has borne concerning his Son. And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.

In evangelising, we need to be just like that Samaritan woman. Lets run to as many people as we can to tell them of what Jesus has done on the cross. The Holy Spirit may use our efforts and testify through them.

In the daily grind of life it is not normal to expect to feel the tremendous emotion that the woman felt on that day; let us not be compelled by emotion (then we would never be consistent witnesses because feelings change like the wind) but instead compelled by the living hope and joy that we have in Christ!

In using the law first and then presenting the good news, don’t be afraid to share your ‘testimony’ too. “Jesus showed me how sinful and deserving of wrath I am through my transgression of the law of God, but how loving and glorious he is when he died on a cross for my sin.” Perhaps we could even ask people the question: “What do you think, could Jesus be the only hope for the world?”

Comments
  1. Pastor Chris says:

    I’ve always loved the story. The woman’s testimony continues a theme that i find with many of the disciples: “Come and See.” When we have a vibrant faith, we can invite people to experience this same Jesus. When evangelism is proclaiming God’s love and is evidenced by the newness of the transformed life, “Come and see” is a great invitation to the curious.

    I enjoy the new layout.

    Pastor Chris
    EvangelismCoach.org

  2. Dave says:

    When I was a new believer, I was very timid when it came to sharing my testimony and my faith with others. But I started to do it even though uncomfortable and after a time, I became more and more comfortable doing it. I now am very comfortable and confident with talking about Jesus with others and my heart is always burning to do so.

    What is painful now, in my life when I share to others about Jesus and about my personal testimony, is when I see no revelation. No sparkle of the eyes, no nod of the head or comprehension or interest in what I am saying. It pains me when people quickly lose any interest in who I am and what I have to say, when I start to share spiritual things with them. But even though it’s painful to witness, I strive on anyway, knowing that I have fulfilled what God wants of me by planting and watering seeds. I pray that He will continue a good work in them whom I have witnessed too. 🙂

    Thanks for your words Dan, they are edifying.

    In His grace,

    Dave

  3. Wow, do you know what Dave? God might use your simple words like he did the Samaritan Woman’s – He may speak to them at the same time or later, testifying that Jesus is the Saviour of the world. That is their only hope: God can and may move on them. That God speaks to them when you speak.

    It was uplifting to hear you share the progression that I also went/go through. I must say, however, that for me there are still fears to work through in evangelism, but by God’s grace I don’t let fear stop me from speaking.

  4. […] you discover the necessity of hearing Jesus in salvation. When I first heard this message I had to blog about it here. Now it is available to download and […]

Leave a Reply

