advice for those who find it difficult

Posted: October 3, 2007 by Daniel in Christianity, church, evangelism, witness encounters

Just sharing an article that could be of use for those who are new to personal evangelism or who read stories about evangelism encounters and think ‘I could never do that’. The article encourages Christians to ‘be a witness through their lives’ and to invite people to Church. It also encourages timid Christians to speak – or at the very least have tracts or gospel messages to give away:

“…We must speak. There must not be a shameful silence, but our words must speak of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Now we have different gifts. Some of us believe that our gifts are very meagre. But the point is, we must use the gifts that we have. We must secure good pamphlets and tapes which speak of the gospel of Jesus Christ. We must have a knowledge of the Bible. That does not mean that we simply take some statement of the gospel and memorize it as a little thing that we throw out. No. The gospel and the knowledge of the Bible must simply flow out of our lives.”

Rev. Carl Haak, Personal Evangelism: How?

Comments
  1. What an amazing quote! Simply amazing!

    The reason I find it so vibrant is because it says that not only should we pass out tracts and preach and such, but that the knowledge of the Bible should flow out of our lives. He combines two of the ideas of evangelism- active evangelism and passive evangelism. Active evangelism being that we engage others and passive evangelism being that we let our actions speak for themselves.

    So he advocates evangelical evangelism but also the verse “Let your good works shine before men, that they may see your father in heaven and praise him.” (Or something like that.)

    Absolutely wonderful. Thank you for posting it.

  2. Thanks ARTC

    Appreciate your comments and support.

    dan.

  3. PyroPenguin says:

    Great quote.
    I loved:
    “The gospel and the knowledge of the Bible must simply flow out of our lives”

    it is very sad and troubling that I have not YET gone out in to the street.
    letter drops, handouts, etc, is one thing, but I know I have a yearning in my heart to do stand up, or at the very least one on one in the street.

    that quote and this web site is a great nudge in the right direction for me.

    what hurt and convicted me the most was the WOTMR quoting Curt regarding witnessing and motivation.
    “would you witness more or even get over your fears of shearing the gospel if you were paid $1000 per person”
    and my answer was “YES!!! I would do it all the time, everywhere!!!”
    But I have trouble doing it for the Glory of God?
    Even tho I am commanded to do it…
    Even after Jesus brought me with a price…

    ummmmm I need to sort my self out don’t I.
    worshiping money over God.
    ohhhhh:(

  4. Thanks PyroPenguin

    I would encourage you (and anyone reading this who is in the same boat) to not beat yourself up over it.

    There is always more we could do in our evangelism – that is a fact that probably won’t change. Evangelizing is a wise thing to do and scripture clearly requires all Christians to be active in it.

    I find that making a time to go out and do some walk-up for an hour or so can really be an effective use of time on a weekend or weeknight. I try to carry tracts on me so I can at least give them out to someone. It is easy to chicken out and I am still prone to do so at times. Its usually when I have not prayed and asked for God’s grace and have just been walking in my own strength.

    I actually don’t do any open-air preaching and don’t intend to. The more that I study the scriptures the more I am convinced that this a role that should be fulfilled by gifted preachers alone – they should be endorsed by the local church and fulfill the qualifications for a minister of the word.

    I would encourage you to get active in walk-up/personal evangelism and focus your energeies there. Remember to pray, smile, be friendly, talk natural, shift to spiritual, share who God is, share the Law to help them see their true condition and true need – righteousness, share the free and universal offer of salvation in Christ alone and let them know that God commands them to repent and believe the gospel. You can do that.

    I get so excited whenever I go out on the street or meet someone new – God could be calling one of his sheep.

  5. ps. there is a lot more to walk-up/personal evangelism than what I said in my short encouragement:

    Remember to pray, smile, be friendly, talk natural, shift to spiritual, share who God is, share the Law to help them see their true condition and true need – righteousness, share the free and universal offer of salvation in Christ alone and let them know that God commands them to repent and believe the gospel.

    but the best way to learn is by doing it as best as you can and learning on the job. Training is important so find a Christian with experience and listen to their wisdom. The more you do it and the more training you seek out the sharper you will be.

  6. PyroPenguin says:

    well I do want to be a sharp tool that the master will chose to use!

Leave a Reply

