Questioning Evangelism (some things that have struck me)

Posted: December 1, 2007 by Daniel in evangelism, resources
Tags: ,

A few months ago I ordered Questioning Evangelism by Randy Newman. It arrived recently and I have found it to be full of intelligent fresh ideas on the task of personal evangelism. While I waited for it to come, I was so excited by a chapter extract on Amazon I did a short post about it. Well I’m now almost half way through the book. The writer is concerned about what we can do in evangelism. He is not from a reformed position, but his idea of using questioning in evangelism is quite robust and well put forward in this book. For now, I just want to share some great take-away quotes:

“Responding to a question with a question paves the way for a concept that the questioner might not otherwise consider …Jesus’s conversation with the woman at the well fits this pattern. The woman’s notions of righteousness, sin, and worship had to be challenged before she would accept Jesus’ way of seeing those concepts.”

“On a practical note, answering a question with a question might alleviate some hostility. When people ask questions that are really attacks in disguise, responding with a question reflects the heat. People usually don’t like the temperature and tend to adjust the thermostat accordingly, which helps create a more productive conversation.”

Four lessons from Solomon:

    1. Avoid and argument
    2. Recognise a fool
    3. Remember that people are people. “…conveying content is only a small part of communication process. Being sensitive to a person’s heart comprises a much larger portion” (Prov 20:5)
    4. Remember the power of the tongue. “…somewhere between total silence and non-stop talk lies wisdom”
Comments
  1. I read an article about using questions in order to share the gospel. I think it is important to do so because so often those on the outside don’t feel like they are being heard. That we have an agenda, and asking questions helps us to better understand their heart, and thier beliefs – that way we can better present the gospel in a way that makes sense over time.

    Also asking questions can plant seeds of doubt in intellectual or emotional strongholds that may be a barrier to faith. I’m going to look for that book, thanks for sharing!

  2. I’ve read his book a couple of times and think that his form of doing evangelism is a little gentler than some of the other methods i have encountered. This fits my style and helps me to keep the discussion two way.

    As I have listened to some other scripts, it seems to me the discussion is one way. The evangelist, if asking questions, tends to use YES NO type questions.

    Pastor Chris
    EvangelismCoach.org

Leave a Reply

